Please, don’t make me waste a click on your GitHub repo

Every now and then (daily) I end up at some project page at GitHub, and almost always I click the “Wiki” link to read up on the project, just to get a sense about what it does and if it can help me. I’ve stopped counted the number of times I end up visiting a blank wiki or not getting to a wiki at all. And often there’s also no links on the landing page and sometimes there are links to an old blog. My immediate reaction is:

This is not a serious project.

I don’t expect you to have an external site or be using GitHub pages, but I do expect you to either use the wiki or remove it. It’s to easy to turn off for you to ignore it.

1) Go to admin
2) Turn if off
3) DONE!

GitHub-Wiki-Before

GitHub-Wiki-Admin1

GitHub-Wiki-Admin2

GitHub-Wiki-After

BTW, it’s really easy to fill it with content as well. Looking forward to stop wasting more clicks on empty wikis on GitHub.

//Daniel

Leave a Reply

